Compulsory papers (qualifying only required) :

PAPER A: Indian language, to be selected by the candidate out of any language included in the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution. The syllabus is of matriculation level.

Language Script
Assamese Assamese
Bengali Bengali
Gujarati Gujarati
Hindi Devanagari
Kannada Kannada
Kashmiri Persian
Konkani Devanagari
Malayalam Malayalam
Manipuri Bengali
Marathi Devanagari
Nepali Devanagari
Oriya Oriya
Punjabi Gurumukhi
Sanskrit Devanagari
Sindhi Devanagari or Arabic
Tamil Tamil
Telugu Telugu
Urdu Persian
Bodo Devanagari
Dogri Devanagari
Maithilli Devanagari
Santhali Devanagari or Olchiki


PAPER B: English language. The syllabus is of matriculation level.

Merit-grading papers (Marks considered for ranking):

PAPER- I: Essay


General Studies I: Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society

General Studies II : Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations

General Studies III : Technology, Economic Development, Bio Diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management

General Studies IV: Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude


Two papers in any one of the optional subjects (candidates may choose it from among the UPSC’s) given below:

Optional Subjects :

Group 1

  1. Agriculture
  2. Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science
  3. Anthropology
  4. Botany
  5. Chemistry
  6. Civil Engineering
  7. Commerce and Accountancy
  8. Economics
  9. Electrical Engineering
  10. Geography
  11. Geology
  12. History
  13. Law
  14. Management
  15. Mathematics
  16. Mechanical Engineering
  17. Medical Science
  18. Philosophy
  19. Physics
  20. Political Science and International Relations
  21. Psychology
  22. Public Administration
  23. Sociology
  24. Statistics
  25. Zoology

Group 2:
You can opt for the literatures of the following languages as an optional subject, only if you have graduated in the literature of that particular language as the main subject.

  1. Assamese
  2. Bengali
  3. Bodo
  4. Dogri
  5. Gujarati
  6. Hindi
  7. Kannada
  8. Kashmiri
  9. Konkani
  10. Maithili
  11. Malayalam
  12. Manipuri
  13. Marathi
  14. Nepali
  15. Oriya
  16. Punjabi
  17. Sanskrit
  18. Santhali
  19. Sindhi
  20. Tamil
  21. Telugu
  22. Urdu
  23. English